Gütermobilität, MdZ 5. Call (2014)

MULE

Mobile multifunktionale urbane Logistik-Plattformen mit elektrischem Antrieb

The project focuses on the use of Mobile multi-functional Urban Logistics Platforms with Electric propulsion- MULEs - as sustainable logistics option in urban areas. By utilizing a generic interface like e.g. ISO-container and integrated energy storage devices MULEs can function as a basis for various logistic tasks. These tasks might include Milk-run services or Pick-up and Drop-off services. Further solutions and services will be developed during the project and the most promising applications with regard to urban freight logistics will be selected by utilizing a multi-dimensional, integrative approach. Their specific benefit for environment, customers, economy and regional services will be determined and possible technical solutions established, including a roadmap for the implementation.

In cities, non-consolidated Courier, Express and Parcel (CEP) services become a problem. Even after a conversion to electric propulsion, the traveled routes are long and create unnecessary traffic. The working hypothesis of the investigative Research assumes that Mobile multi-functional Urban Logistics Platforms with Electric propulsion (MULEs) will bring smart urban logistics to new heights. To name just a few examples they might be used as multi-client pick-up stations, intermediate storage for bicycle couriers, for milk runs which access multiple local intermodal nodes and as box systems being available on the positions for the pick-up ahead of the early peak in traffic. In addition generic autonomous logistics platforms are also used to relocate and maintain bike-rental stations and also as mobile charging stations capable of transporting a vehicle on top of it.

In Europe legal hurdles hamper market introduction of autonomous driving, even if the technical problems may be regarded as solved and if their introduction would lead to a reduction in the number of motorised vehicles. In parallel with the lowering of the cost of the sensors, an introduction of autonomous driving is expected by 2020. Until then, the innovative approaches may be tested on the basis of town logistics platforms.

The project unites expertise from logistics (tbwr, TU-Graz ITL, FGM, Scheuwimmer), (partial-) autonomous driving (TU Graz FTG) and incubation of inventions (EUC), which allows the forward looking work on defining technical and organizational conditions for selfdriving logistics platforms. The most promising applications in the field of logistics are searched via creativity techniques and expert surveys, selected via a multi criteria analysis and incubated focusing on practicability, also using the GÜMOS tool enhanced by an industrial dimension.

Contradictory approaches (40 principles from TRIZ) will be used in the Project elaborating proposals for technical solutions, as measures of active and passive safety allowing safe autonomous operation. The benefits will be quantified y examining logistical processes and calculating energy consumption and emission reduction via the SEV-tool for the evaluation of climate protection measures in transport. A cost assessment - supported by visualization - will determine the acceptance, so the potential benefits for Austrian cities can be specified. With the findings from focus groups and expert interviews, needed further research will be specified making the introduction of autonomous logistics platforms till 2020 possible and also providing a roadmap for it. Showing the impact will allow Austria's shipping enterprising and logistics operators to prepare for the consequences. For the domestic automotive industry active in the field of logistics chances will arise widening their portfolio via solutions incubated in the project. Also, existing Austrian suppliers for Pick-up-Stations (where one LOI was received) may extend their market via mobile pick-up/drop-off stations; a European Research Project together with Berlin is envisaged.

back

Gütermobilität, MdZ 5. Ausschreibung (2014)

MULE

Mobile multifunktionale urbane Logistik-Plattformen mit elektrischem Antrieb

Die Sondierung fokussiert auf den Einsatz Mobiler multifunktionaler urbaner Logistik-Plattformen mit elektrischem Antrieb MULEs für die nachhaltige Güterlogistik in Städten zu entwickeln. Über eine generische Schnittstelle wie z.B. ISO-Container und die eingebauten Energiespeicher können MULEs als Basis für verschiedene logistische Aufgaben dienen, wie Tourenservices (Milk-Run), Pick-up und Drop-Off. Im Projekt werden weitere Lösungen entwickelt und in einem mehrdimensionalen Betrachtungsansatz die aussichtsreichsten Anwendungen im Bereich städtische Güterlogistik selektiert. Für diese wird der Nutzen für die Umwelt, KundInnen, die verladende Wirtschaft und regionale Dienstleister ermittelt, es werden technische Lösungsvorschläge ausgearbeitet und eine Roadmap für die Einführung erstellt.

In Städten werden nicht konsolidierende Kurier-, Express und Paketdienst (KEP-) Verkehre durch die Inanspruchnahme des Straßenraums und die Umweltbelastung zum Problem. Auch nach einer Umstellung auf Elektroantrieb sind die zurückgelegten Strecken lang und es wird unnötig Verkehr erzeugt. Die Arbeitshypothese der Sondierung ist, dass Mobile multi-funktionale urbane Logistik-Plattformen mit elektrischem Antrieb (MULEs) Smart Urban Logistics auf eine neue Ebene heben könnten, indem sie als Multi-Client Pick-Up-Stationen, Zwischenlager für Radboten, Tourenservices, die mehrere lokale intermodale Logistikknoten anfahren und Boxensysteme, die ab der Frühspitze im Verkehr bereits an den Positionen für die Entnahme stehen u.v.a.m. dienen.

Darüber hinaus können generische ggf. autonome Logistikplattformen auch genutzt werden um Standorte für (Lasten-) Fahrrad-Leihsysteme bedarfsgerecht zu positionieren und diese zur Wartung einzuziehen, sowie auch als mobile ggf. befahrbare Ladestationen. Einer Markteinführung des autonomen Fahrens stehen in Europa rechtliche Hürden im Wege, auch wenn die technischen Probleme als gelöst angesehen werden und damit eine Reduktion der benötigten Kfz einher gehen würde (Schöttl & Sivak, 2015). Parallel mit der Senkung der Kosten für die Sensorik wird eine Einführung des autonomen Fahrens ab 2020 erwartet.
Durch die kürzerfristige Umsetzbarkeit für die logistisch innovativen Ansätze werden in der Sondierung Technologien für gezogene Logistikplattformen inkubiert. Das Projekt versammelt Expertise im Bereich Logistik (tbwr, TU-GRAZ ITL, FGM, Scheuwimmer), (teil-) autonomes Fahren (TU-Graz FTG) und die Inkubation von Erfindungen, womit vorausblickend die technischen und organisatorischen Bedingungen für selbstfahrende elektrisch betriebene Logistik-Plattformen erarbeitet werden können.

Im Projekt werden die aussichtsreichsten Anwendungen im Bereich Güterlogistik über Kreativitätstechniken und ExpertInnenbefragung gesucht, über eine Multikriterienanalyse ausgewählt und lösungszentriert u.a mit dem um die Dimension Industrie erweiterten GÜMOS-Tool inkubiert. Über kontradiktorische Lösungsansätze (40 Prinzipien nach TRIZ) werden technische Lösungsvorschläge erarbeitet, wie über Maßnahmen der aktiven und passiven Sicherheit ein sicherer autonomer Betrieb ermöglicht werden kann. Mittels zahlenmäßiger Abbildung der logistischen Prozesse und Berechnung des Energiebedarfs und der Emissionsminderung über das SEV-Tool zur Evaluierung von Klimaschutzmaßnahmen im Verkehr wird der Nutzen quantifiziert werden. Über eine Kostenabschätzung, und gestützt durch eine Visualisierung, wird die Akzeptanz erhoben, womit der potentielle Nutzen für Österreichs Städte ermittelt werden kann. Mit den Erkenntnissen aus Fokusgruppen und ExpertInnenbefragungen wird weiterer Forschungsbedarf spezifiziert um die Einführung von autonomen Logistikplattformen bis 2020 möglich zu machen, und dafür eine mögliche Roadmap erstellt.

Die Darstellung der Auswirkungen ermöglicht der verladenden Wirtschaft, und den Logistikern sich darauf vorzubereiten. Für die im Bereich Logistik tätige heimische Fahrzeugindustrie ergibt sich die Chance ihr Produktportfolio mit Lösungen aus dem Projekt zu verbreitern, österr. Lieferanten für Paketstationen (wobei eine Absichtserklärung vorliegt) können Ihren Markt mittels mobiler Pick-Up/Drop-off Stationen ausweiten, ein EU-Projekt wird mit Berlin avisiert.

zurück